Nebraska Auto Racing Hall Announces Seven New Members

The Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame will be inducting seven new members on October 12, 2012 at the Fireman’s Hall in Lincoln, Nebr. This is the 15th class for the Hall of Fame which was created in 1998 to honor Nebraskans, both native and adopted, for their contributions to the sport of auto racing.

The seven newest associates in the Hall of Fame are:

Chuck Bosselman, Grand Island, got the racing bug in late-1960s, starting with a 1955 Chevy, competing around the Midwest. Bosselman became one of the few people to successfully race an AMC product on America’s short tracks, winning an IMCA national race at the Nebraska State Fair in 1974 with his red, white and blue AMC Hornet.

Dave Chase, Omaha, in a career spanning more than 30 years, Chase scored in excess of 300 feature wins and 20 track championships. He also ran in ASA and NASCAR with great success.

Bob Elic, Omaha, was a major force in Omaha area drag racing in the 1950s and 1960s, driving the career of Howdy Williams and several others. John Gerloff, Lincoln, was a championship winning late model driver before turning his attention to sprint cars in the mid-1980s. Gerloff won point titles at Eagle Raceway seven times and is the all-time leading feature winner there. He also racked up victories at the Jackson Nationals in 1988 and the Short Track Nationals in 1994.

Keith Hightshoe, Ashland, started his career at Arlington Raceway in 1955 and ran with some of the top organizations including, IMCA and BCRA, during a 45-year career. He won races in Colorado and Kansas in addition to his home state.

Bob Hubbard, Wymore, was a winning crew chief at the Daytona 24-hour event four times, 1985-’86-’87-’88. He also scored national wins as a driver in 1964 and 1965 in Formula Vee and won six national titles in F production.

Homer Macklin, Minden, starting out as a driver in the early-1950s, Homer really found his niche as the mechanic of the famed Mighty Mouse stock car team. With drivers such as Cliff Sealock and Willie Hecke, the Mighty Mouse ran wild for two decades. In 1972, Macklin and Hecke teamed up with the “Go Big Red,” sprint car and continued to dominate for several years.

On behalf of Chuck, who passed away in January, and the Bosselman family, his son Charlie comments, "As a family, we are extremely honored and proud of this award. We know how much Dad loved all aspects of racing, from driving, to promoting the sport, including his sponsorship of the Pump & Pantry Late Model Nationals. I plan to continue his legacy through my creation of a tribute 1971 AMC Hornet that I will be racing upon completion. It's just one small way our family can carry on this tradition in honor and memory of Chuck."

Chuck's daughter Brandi relates, "Dad had racing in his veins, it brought him so much happiness. His lifelong support of this sport was amazing and we're grateful and honored for this award from the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame. He would have been so pleased and humbled."

"Racing was a lot of fun for our family and friends. The cameraderie that was built through all the racers and their families was truly wonderful, thank you," comments Chuck's wife, Jan.

The purpose of the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame is to perpetuate the memory of these individuals who have brought lasting fame to the state of Nebraska through their efforts in auto racing. Nominees to the Nebraska Auto Racing Hall of Fame must have been a resident of the state for at least two years and must be retired for at least four years from the discipline for which they are being honored. Active participants in the sport will be considered if they are at least 55 years of age and have been with the sport for at least 30 years. All candidates must have made positive contributions to the sport of auto racing on a local and regional level and go on to some national prominence.